Faculty Partners

The following is an incomplete directory of University of Chicago faculty with research interests in American topics. We hope to have an updated version published by the beginning of the 2017-18 term.

Anthropology

Shannon Lee Dawdy Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology and Social Sciences Southeast U.S. and Caribbean, particularly Louisiana and Cuba; Colonialism; Modernity; Informal economies sdawdy@uchicago.edu

Mark Lycett Director of the Environmental Studies Program in the College; Senior Lecturer in Anthropology and in the Social Sciences Method and theory; Analytical methods; Ethnohistory; Colonialism; Demography; Landscape studies mlycett@uchicago.edu

Joseph Masco Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology and the College Science and technology; U.S. national security culture; Political ecology; Mass media; Critical theory jmasco@uchicago.edu

Stephan Palmié Professor of Anthropology and of Social Sciences in the College Afro-Caribbean cultures; Practices of historical representation and knowledge production; Systems of slavery and unfree labor; Constructions of race and ethnicity; Embodiment and moral personhood; Medical anthropology; Anthropology of food and cuisine palmie@uchicago.edu

Art History

Darby English Associate Professor, Department of Art History; Affiliate Faculty, Department of Visual Arts Histories of modernism; Contemporary art; Cultural studies denglish@uchicago.edu

Joel Snyder Professor and Chair, Department of Art History History of photography; Theory of photography and film; History and theory of perspective; Medieval and Renaissance theory of vision; Critical theory, aesthetics and the theory of representation jsnyder@uchicago.edu

Katherine Taylor Associate Professor, Department of Art History 19th and 20th century architecture and urbanism, with an emphasis on the reception and social use of buildings’ Representations of power in post-revolutionary architecture k-taylor@uchicago.edu

Cinema and Media Studies

Tom Gunning Edwin A. and Betty L. Bergman Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Art History and the College; Chair, Department of Cinema and Media Studies International early and silent cinema; American avant-garde cinema;  Film and narrative theory; Classical film theory; Early cinema and the experience of modernity; Film historiography; Film exhibition and spectatorship; Modernist cinema of the twenties (Soviet, French, and German) tgunning@uchicago.edu

Judy Hoffman Lecturer, Departments of Cinema & Media Studies and Visual ArtsDocumentary cinema and video; Video and film production; Ethnographic film and issues of representation and cultural ownership; Cinema verite and the participant camera; The Guerilla Television Movement; Political film and video; Chicago Film History judyh@uchicago.edu

Rebecca West William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Romance Languages & Literatures, Department of Cinema & Media Studies, and the College; Department of Cinema & Media Studies Film adaptations of the American writer Patricia Highsmith; American cinema; Italian-American cinema; Feminist and queer studies approaches r-west@uchicago.edu

 

Comparative Human Development

Richard Shweder William Claude Reavis Distinguished Service Professor of Human Development in the Department of Comparative Human Development; Pluralism and the multicultural challenge in Western liberal democracies rshd@uchicago.edu

 

Divinity

Curtis Evans Assistant Professor of the History of Christianity in the Divinity SchoolModern American religion; Race and religion in US history; Slavery and Christianity cjevans@uchicago.edu

W. Clark Gilpin Margaret E. Burton Distinguished Service Professor of the History of Christianity and Theology in the Divinity School and the College Cultural history of theology in England and America since the 17th-century wgilpin@uchicago.edu

Richard Rosengarten Associate Professor of Religion and Literature in the Divinity School Genres of narrative (especially the novel); Hermeneutics, literary theory, and aesthetics; religious thought through the “long” 18th-century raroseng@uchicago.edu

 

English

Bill Brown Karla Scherer Distinguished Service Professor in American Culture; Department of English; Department of Visual Arts; Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality; Deputy Provost for the Arts; Principal Investigator, Object Cultures Project at the Chicago Center for Contemporary Theory; Coeditor, Critical Inquiry wlbrown@uchicago.edu

James Chandler Barbara E. & Richard J. Franke Distinguished Service Professor, Department of English, Committee on the History of Culture, Committee on Cinema & Media Studies; Director, Franke Institute for the Humanities The Romantic movement; Lyric poetry; History of the novel; Relations between politics and literature; the Scottish Enlightenment; Modern Irish literature and culture; Sentimentality; Cinema studies docj@uchicago.edu

James Lastra Associate Professor, Department of English Surrealism both in Europe and in the United States; Silent film comedy; American experimental film; Luis Buñuel jflastra@uchicago.edu

W.J.T. Mitchell Gaylord Donnelley Distinguished Service Professor, Departments of English, Art History, and Visual Arts Visual Culture and Iconography; Critical Race Studies; History of Ideas; Marxism; 18th- and 20th-Century British Literature wjtm@uchicago.edu

Lawrence Rothfield Associate Professor, Department of English, Department of Comparative Literature; Research Affiliate, Cultural Policy Center Literature and epistemic and political struggles; Cultural policy studies; Politics of taste; 19th-century European fiction lary@uchicago.edu

Eric Slauter Associate Professor, Department of English; Director, Scherer Center Early American cultural, intellectual, and literary history; Legal history; History of political thought; Book history; Visual and material culture studies; Quantitative analysis; History of slavery, abolition, and emancipation; Atlantic history eslauter@uchicago.edu

Harris School

Christopher Berry Assistant Professor, Harris School of Public Policy Political economy of American local government and the politics of federal spending crberry@uchicago.edu

William Howell Sydney Stein Professor in American Politics; Co-Director, Program on Political Institutions; Professor, Department of Political Science and the CollegeSeparation-of-powers issues and American political institutions whowell@uchicago.edu

 

History

Leora Auslander Professor of European Social History; Founding Director of the Center for Gender Studies; Professor, Committee on Jewish Studies 19th- and 20th-century European Social and Cultural History; Material Culture and the Built Environment; Culture and Politics; Jewish History; Gender History and Theory; Colonial and Post-colonial Europe lausland@uchicago.edu

Mark Bradley Professor, Department of History Twentieth-Century U.S. International History; Global History of Human Rights Politics; Postcolonial Southeast Asia mbradley@uchicago.edu

Paul Cheney Assistant Professor, Department of History The Atlantic World; History of Political Thought; and Early Modern Capitalism; French History; The Enlightenment; French Revolution cheney@uchicago.edu

Jane Dailey Associate Professor, Department of History Modern United States social and political history; African American history; the American South; Legal history dailey@uchicago.edu

Ramon A. Gutierrez Preston and Sterling Morton Distinguished Service Professor in United States History, Department of History Chicano History; Race and Ethnicity in American Life; Chicano/Latino Studies; Indian-White Relations in the Americas; Social and Economic History of the Southwest; Colonial Latin America; Mexican Immigration rgutierrez@uchicago.edu

Emilio Kouri Professor, Department of History Modern Mexico; Social and economic history of Latin America; Agrarian studies; History of ideas; Cuba and the Spanish Caribbean; US Latino history kouri@uchicago.edu

Julie Saville Associate Professor, Department of History United States History; African-American and Caribbean History; Comparative Slavery and Emancipations jsaville@uchicago.edu

James T. Sparrow Assistant Professor, Department of History Modern United States political and social history; War and society; Social science and the state; Technology; History and new media jts@uchicago.edu

Amy Dru Stanley Professor of History and the College; Nineteenth-century United States; slavery and emancipation; capitalism and political economy; legal and gender; cultural, social, and human rights adstanle@uchicago.edu

Christine Stansell Stein-Freiler Distinguished Service Professor in United States History, Department of History Women’s and gender history; Antebellum U.S. social and political history; American cultural history; History of human rights and post-catastrophic societies stansell@uchicago.edu

 

Law

Emily Buss Mark and Barbara Field Professor of Law, The Law School Children’s and parents’ rights and the legal system’s allocation of authority and responsibility for children’s development among parent, child, and state ebussdos@uchicago.edu

Richard Helmholz Ruth Wyatt Rosenson Distinguished Service Professor of Law, The Law School Law of property; Natural resources law; Legal history; Roman and canon laws to the development of the common law dick_helmholz@law.uchicago.edu

Dennis J. Hutchinson William Rainey Harper Professor in the College, Master of the New Collegiate Division, and Assoc. Dean of the College Contracts; Constitutional law; Elements; Legal history dennis_hutchinson@uclaw.uchicago.edu

Alison LaCroix Assistant Professor of Law, The Law School Legal history; Federalism; Constitutional law; Federal jurisdiction; Law and literature lacroix@uchicago.edu

Eric Posner Kirkland and Ellis Professor of Law, The Law School International law; Immigration law; Foreign relations law eric_posner@law.uchicago.edu

Geoffrey Stone Edward H. Levi Distinguished Service Professor, The Law SchoolConstitutional law g-stone@uchicago.edu

David Strauss Gerald Ratner Distinguished Service Professor of Law, The Law SchoolConstitutional law d-strauss@uchicago.edu

 

Linguistics

John Goldsmith Edward Carson Waller Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Linguistics Technology; Artificial Intelligence; Linguistics; Humanities goldsmith@uchicago.edu

Salikoko Mufwene Frank J. McLoraine Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Linguistics and the College; The Committee on Evolutionary Biology; The Committee on the Conceptual and Historical Studies of Science Morphosyntactic and semantic characteristics of Gullah, African-American Vernacular English, Jamaican Creole, and English s-mufwene@uchicago.edu

Alan C.L. Yu Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics and the College Language documentation and revitalization in North America; Native American linguistics;Phonological theory; Speech perception and production; Historical linguistics aclyu@uchicago.edu

 

Music

Phillip Bohlman Mary Werkman Distinguished Service Professor of Music and the Humanities in the College Performance and research; Jewish music and modernity boh6@uchicago.edu

Berthold Hoeckner Associate Professor, Department of Music and the Humanities 19th- and 20th-Century music; Aesthetics; Adorno; Music and literature; Film music and visual culture; Psychology and neuroscience of music bhoeckne@uchicago.edu

Travis Jackson Associate Professor, Department of Music and the HumanitiesEthnomusicology; Jazz travieso@uchicago.edu

Shulamit Ran Andrew MacLeish Distinguished Service Professor, Department of MusicComposition sran@uchicago.edu

 

Philosophy

Dan Brudney Professor in the Department of Philosophy and the College; Associate Faculty in the Divinity School; Associate Faculty, MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics Political philosophy; Philosophy and literature; Bioethics and philosophy of religion dbrudney@uchicago.edu

James Conant Chester D. Tripp Professor of Humanities and the College;  Professor and Chair, Department of Philosophy Philosophy of Language; Philosophy of Mind; Aesthetics; German Idealism; and History of Analytic Philosophy jconant@uchicago.edu

 

Political Science

John Brehm Professor, Department of Political Science Compliance; Political Psychology; Public Opinion jjbrehm@uchicago.edu

Michael Dawson John D. MacArthur Professor of Political Science and the College; African American political behavior, identity, and public opinion; Political effects of urban poverty; African American political ideology mc-dawson@uchicago.edu

Mark Hansen Charles L. Hutchinson Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Political Science and the College Legislative Politics; Interest Group Politics; Rational Choice Models jhansen@midway.uchicago.edu

Patchen Markell Associate Professor, Department of Political Science Modern European and American political thought and philosophy; Democratic theory; Critiques of capitalism; Classical political thought and its modern receptions pmarkell@uchicago.edu

Eric Oliver Professor, Department of Political Science Contemporary American politics; Suburban and racial politics; Political psychology; Politics of science eoliver@uchicago.edu

John Padgett Professor, Department of Political Science American Politics; Organizational Theory; Mathematical Models; Co-Evolution of States and Markets jpadgett@midway.uchicago.edu

Gerald Rosenberg Associate Professor, Department of Political Science; Lecturer, The Law School American Politics; Public Law; Civil Rights and Civil Liberties g-rosenberg@uchicago.edu

Nathan Tarcov Professor, Department of Political Science History of political theory; Education and family in political theory; Principles of U.S. foreign policy n-tarcov@uchicago.edu

 

Social Service Administration

Harold Pollack Helen Ross Professor at the School of Social Service Administration; Faculty Chair, the Center for Health Administration Studies; Co-Director, University of Chicago Crime Lab Poverty policy and public health haroldp@uchicago.edu

 

Social Thought

Ralph Lerner Benjamin Franklin Professor Emeritus in the College and of Social ThoughtAmerican Political Thought; Tocqueville; 17th- and 18th-Century British Political Thought; Maimonides and Medieval Muslim Political Philosophy rlerner@uchicago.edu

Mark Payne Associate Professor, the Committee on Social Thought, Department of Classics, and the College The culture of North American plains Indians; Pastoral poetry; Ancient and modern lyric poetry; Poetry of ancient Greece and modern Europe mpayne@uchicago.edu

Robert Pippin Evelyn Stefansson Nef Distinguished Service Professor of Social Thought, Philosophy, and in the College Political philosophy; Theories of self-consciousness; Nature of conceptual change; the problem of freedom rbp1@uchicago.edu

 

Sociology

Andrew Abbot Gustavus F. and Ann M. Swift Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Sociology and the College Sociology of occupations, professions, and work; Sociology of culture and knowledge; Social theory a-abbott@uchicago.edu