Skip to content

Four Humanities Division Scholars Win MLA Prizes

Four faculty from the Division of the Humanities were awarded prestigious prizes from the Modern Language Association (MLA) for their recent publications. The announcement was made on December 5.  A total of eighteen prizes will be presented at the association’s annual convention in January.

  • Janel Mueller, the William Rainey Harper Distinguished Service Professor Emerita in the Department of English and the College and former Dean of the Division of the Humanities, and Joshua Scodel, the Helen A. Regenstein Professor in English, Comparative Literature, and the College, were the winners of the prize for a Distinguished Scholarly Edition for their two books Elizabeth I: Translations, 1544-1589 (University of Chicago Press, 2009) and Elizabeth I: Translations, 1592-1598 (University of Chicago Press, 2009).
  • Michael Bourdaghs, associate professor in the Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations, and his co-authors Atsuko Ueda and Joseph A. Murphy won the Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for a Translation of a Scholarly Study of Literature for their translation of Natsume Soseki’s Theory of Literature and Other Critical Writings (Columbia University Press, 2010).
  • William S. Nickell, assistant professor in the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures, will receive an honorable mention for The Death of Tolstoy: Russia on the Eve, Astapovo Station, 1910 (Cornell University Press, 2010).

The Modern Language Association of America has 30,000 members in 100 countries. Founded in 1883, its mandate is to strengthen the study and teaching of languages and literature and provide opportunities for scholars to share their findings and teaching experiences with colleagues.

Posted in Uncategorized. Tagged with .

0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

You must be logged in to post a comment.