Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts: Senior Fellowship Program


Deadline: October 15 (receipt)

Submission Method: Mail

Current Fellows

Recent Chicago Fellows: Rebecca Zorach, Art History (08/09); other years not available

Competition Level: Up to 7 fellowships are awarded annually; the number of applications submitted is not available

Eligibility: Must have held PhD for at least 5 years; Individuals currently affiliated with the National Gallery of Art are not eligible for the senior fellowship program.

Fellowships are for full-time research, and scholars are expected to reside in Washington and to participate in the activities of the Center throughout the fellowship period (academic year). Each senior fellow is provided with a study. In addition, senior fellows who relocate are provided with housing in apartments near the Gallery, subject to availability. Senior fellows have access to the notable resources represented by the collections, the library, and the photographic archives of the National Gallery of Art, as well as to the Library of Congress and other specialized research libraries and collections in the Washington area.

One Paul Mellon Fellowship and four to six Ailsa Mellon Bruce and Samuel H. Kress Senior Fellowships will be awarded. Applications for a single academic term or quarter are also possible.

The Paul Mellon and Ailsa Mellon Bruce Senior Fellowships are intended to support research in the history, theory, and criticism of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, architecture, landscape architecture, urbanism, prints and drawings, film, photography, decorative arts, industrial design, and other arts) of any geographical area and of any period. The Samuel H. Kress Senior Fellowships are intended primarily to support research on European art before the early 19th century.

Comments are closed.

Trackback URI |