Restaurants

The following is an extensive (but not comprehensive) list of local restaurants in Hyde Park. For your convenience we have grouped them according to their distance from campus. When possible we have provided a link to the restaurant’s webpage so you can take a look at their menus.

5 minute walk from campus:

Packed (Dumplings): http://www.packeddumplings.com/

Medici on 57th (American): http://www.medici57.com/

Nile Restaurant (Middle Eastern): http://nilerestaurantofhydepark.com/

Salonica Restaurant (Greek): http://www.salonica57.com

Woodlawn Tap (aka “Jimmy’s”) – 1172 E 55th St, Chicago, IL 60637

Medici Bakery: www.medici57.com

Zaleski & Horvath MarketCafe: http://www.zhmarketcafe.com/

Plein Air Café: http://www.pleinaircafe.com 

Noodles, Etc. (Asian): http://noodlesetc.com/

 

10-15 minute walk from campus:

Harold’s Chicken Shack – 1208 E 53rd St,

Leona’s (Italian): http://leonas.com/

Thai 55: http://www.thai55restaurant.com/

Kikuya (Japanese): http://kikuyaonline.com/

Shinju Sushi: http://www.shinjusushi.com/

Snail Thai Cuisine: http://www.snailthai.com/

Cedar’s Mediterranean Kitchen: http://eatcedars.com/

Maravillas Restaurant (Mexican): http://maravillas.webs.com/

Bonjour Bakery Café – 1550 E 55th St, Chicago

Pockets (Sandwiches): http://www.pocketsonline.com/

Potbelly Sandwich Shop: http://www.potbelly.com

La Petite Folie (French): http://www.lapetitefolie.com/

Piccolo Mondo: http://www.piccolomondo.us/

The Sit-Down Café and Sushi Bar (Pizza/Sandwiches/Sushi): http://www.thesitdown53.com/

Yusho (Japanese): http://yushohydepark.com/

 

20 minute walk from campus:

A10 (Italian/French): http://a10hydepark.com/

Pizza Capri: http://www.pizzacapri.com/zgrid/themes/10264/portal/index.jsp

Giordano’s (Pizza): http://giordanos.com/

Rajun Cajun (Indian): http://rajunrestaurant.com/

Bar Louie (American/Cocktails): http://www.barlouieamerica.com/

Mellow Yellow (American/Crepes): http://www.mellowyellowrestaurant.com/

Café 53 (Sandwiches): http://www.cafe53rd.com/

Chant (Asian Fusion): http://www.chantchicago.com/

The Promontory (American/Bar): http://promontorychicago.com

Native Foods (Vegan/Vegetarian): https://nativefoods.com/thanksgiving

Porkchop (Barbeque): http://www.chicagoporkchop.com/menu/

Valois (American): http://www.valoisrestaurant.com/

Cholie’s (Pizza) – 1601 E 53rd St

Ja’ Grill (Jamaican) – http://www.jagrill.com/