Author Archive

New tools, old questions

Friday, May 27th, 2011

Susie Allen recently wrote a piece for the University of Chicago Humanities Division’s magazine Tableau, which profiles the Linguistics department: New tools, old questions.

Welcome, Diane Brentari!

Wednesday, March 30th, 2011

We are happy to announce that Professor Diane Brentari, currently at Purdue University, has accepted an offer to become a full professor in the Department of Linguistics at the University of Chicago starting next fall. Everyone in the department is very excited — adding her to the faculty will not only bolster our already impressive strength in phonological and morphological theory, but also help to make Chicago a leader in sign language linguistics.

Welcome, Diane!

CLS 47: April 7-9!

Saturday, March 26th, 2011

The 47th Annual Meeting of the Chicago Linguistic Society is coming up, April 7-9 in Ida Noyes Hall. The conference program has been posted, and pre-registration for CLS 47 is now open on the CLS website until March 31. Prices are $20 for pre-registered students and $40 for pre-registered faculty and other attendees. Mailing pre-registration fees in advance (checks only, please) is not required but strongly encouraged to help registration run smoothly at the conference. After March 31, prices will go up to $25 and $50. Registration is FREE for all University of Chicago students.

Carissa Abrego-Collier, Arum Kang, Martina Martinovic, Chieu Nguyen
CLS 47 Organizing Committee

Thomas Grano: Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellow

Tuesday, March 8th, 2011

5th year PhD student Thomas Grano has been awarded a Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship for the next academic year. This is a national competition among students from all areas of the humanities. Congratulations, Tommy!

Rebekah Baglini: Bloch Fellow

Tuesday, March 8th, 2011

3rd-year PhD student Rebekah Baglini has been named the 2011-13 Bloch Fellow. This award goes to the person who is, in the eyes of the LSA Summer Institute fellowship selection committee, “the most promising applicant for fellowships” at the Institute. The Bloch Fellow receives an institute fellowship (obviously), and then serves as a voting member of the LSA Executive Committee for two years. Wow!