Month: May 2010

  • Bochnak awarded the Hanna Holborn Gray Fellowship

    Ryan Bochnak was awarded the Hanna Holborn Gray Fellowship, which is a fellowship funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and is “designated to support the very best graduate students in the second half of their graduate program at the University”. Way to go, Ryan!

  • Staraki and Straughn awarded dissertation-year fellowships

    Eleni Staraki has been awarded a Mellon Dissertation Fellowship and Chris Straughn is receiving the Whiting Fellowship. Congratulations, Eleni and Chris!

  • Job news: Nikki Adams to Maryland

    Nikki Adams has accepted the position of Research Scientist at the Center for Advanced Study of Language at the University of Maryland. Congratulations, Nikki!

  • NSF grant to Yu

    Alan Yu has been awarded a three-year National Science Foundation grant. The title of the project is Understanding Perceptual Compensation in Sound Change.

  • Talk by McDonough on May 27

    Departmental Colloquium Documentation of tone in the Mackenzie Basin Dene languages Joyce McDonough University of Rochester Cobb 201 3:30PM As part of a study of the phonetics of the Dene languages, this talk examines the realization of tone in several Athabaskan, or Dene (as speakers prefer) languages in the Mackenzie Basin area of Canada, an…