23rd Conference of the Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies (AABS): The Global Baltics: The Next Twenty Years, Proposals Deadline October 1

First Call for Papers
23rd Conference of the Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies (AABS):
The Global Baltics: The Next Twenty Years

April 26–28, 2012, Chicago, Illinois
The bi-annual Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies conference welcomes papers, panels, and roundtable presentations in fields related to the Baltic region, its countries, and populations within those countries, including minorities. Contributions are encouraged from disciplines including, but not limited to, the following: anthropology, architecture, business, communication and media, cultural studies, demography, economics, education, environment, ethnic relations, film studies, fine arts, gender studies, geography, history, international relations, law, linguistics, literature, memory, political science, psychology, public health, religion, sociology, and advancing Baltic studies. Interdisciplinary and comparative work is welcome.

Graduate students, both Master and Ph.D., are encouraged to submit proposal.

Paper and panel proposals must include an abstract of no more than 250 words and a one- to
two-page curriculum vitae. These materials should be sent to the appropriate divisional chair. Interdisciplinary papers can be
sent to one divisional chair according to the author’s judgment:

Divisions and Chairs
Advancing Baltic Studies
Olavi Arens olavi.arens@armstrong.edu

Aesthetics, Creativity and Culture
Vilius Rudra Dundzila rdundzila@ccc.edu

Anthropology
Neringa Klumbytė klumbyn@muohio.edu

Business and Economics
Kenneth Smith Kenneth.Smith@millersville.edu

Business ethics and corporate social responsibility
Randy Richards RichardsRandyL@sau.edu

Communication and Media
Andris Straumanis andris.straumanis@uwrf.edu

Education
Kara Brown brownk25@gwm.sc.edu

Environment and Public Health
Robert Smurr smurrr@evergreen.edu

Ethnic Minorities in the Baltic
Mara Lazda mlazda@alumni.iu.edu

Gender
Tiina Ann Kirss tiina.kirss@ut.ee

History and Memory
Bradley Woodworth bwoodworth@newhaven.edu

Linguistics
Dzintra Bond bond@ohio.edu

Musicology
Kevin Karnes kkarnes@emory.edu

Literature
Daiva Markelis dmmarkelis@eiu.edu

Political Science, International Relations, Law
Daunis Auers Daunis.Auers@lu.lv

Religion
Dace Veinberga dace.veinberga@utoronto.ca

Sociology, Psychology, Demography
Daina S. Eglitis dainas@gwu.edu

Deadline for proposals: October 1, 2011.
Date and place of the conference: April 26-28, 2012, Chicago, Illinois.
Registration information will be available on the website (coming soon). All presenters must be AABS members in good standing.
More information will be coming soon on AABS website: http://depts.washington.edu/aabs/
Questions regarding the conference might be addressed to the Conference Chair Giedrius Subačius (University of Illinois at Chicago) at subacius@uic.edu

Posted in: Calls for Papers and Upcoming Conferences
Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *